Mid June Updates. 2018 Triathlons

For some reason this year it has felt like an eternity before my first triathlon of the year.

July 8th will be my first race- The Omaha Triathlon. Ideally I was planning on this to be my A race, but being the first one of the season, I don’t think that will be the case. This will be my only Olympic distance one for the year. I’ve heard a lot of complaints on Facebook about this race, most seem legitimate. Not sure how the race will pan out. A lot of complaints were how the transitions were set up. Originally it was going to be almost a mile run from the swim to the bike, which doesn’t sound great when your barefoot. It was then switched to having 2 different transitions which I am not really sure on how much I like that either, but a race is a race. Everyone will have to deal with it.

I really want to get a 70.3 race in this year and I found one closer to home that doesn’t cost as much as an ironman… Legend Triathlon in September. I know nothing about it, but seems like it would be a good race. My goal for the race is just to get a feel of how a 70.3 race is like. Getting an idea for pacing/nutrition and everything else will be interesting.

July 15 I will be doing the Papillion Triathlon in Omaha. I am pretty excited for the layout and look of this race. I believe it will be 3 laps. Just thinking now, I don’t know if I have ever done a race that is a full loop, one lap. I think something like that would be fun, not having to go back the same way you came and having different scenery.

There are a few other triathlons I am looking at in Iowa that are later in the summer.

Maybe it is just me but I feel like I never get enough training in. I think the hard part of triathlon is having to train for 3 different sports. When I get a good swim day in, and then a good ride in, I’ve already gone 2-3 days without a run.

Right now I am focusing hard on swimming. I think that is the area I can improve on the most. With cycling, I can find some small gains here and there. Running I know I could improve on as well but still feel I can get the most out of swimming.

So focusing on a Olympic distance coming up in 3 weeks, sprint the next weekend, and then I can work on the 70.3 in September!

Leave a comment